Hammer Series: Teams and Riders vow to go all out to win

Hammer Series

The Hammer Series is back with a bang and teams and riders are throwing down the challenge to each other in the fight to win the world’s only team-based professional cycling series and Team Sunweb will be part of this exciting series once again.

This year, 14 of the world’s best teams are committed to another series of strength-sapping races, watched by thousands of people on the streets and millions online.

Dutch Time Trial specialist and Giro d’Italia 2017 winner Tom Dumoulin is out to make sure his team emerges victorious.

“Over the last two years we were up there fighting for the podium. This year we aim to improve and with our TTT-weapon, Team Sunweb will compete hard for the win,” he said.

Hammer Series events take place over three days with the Climb, Sprint and Chase on separate days. For last year’s final in Hong Kong a “super Sunday” Sprint and Chase were held back-to-back on the same day to crown the overall series winner.

A new feature of the Hammer Series 2019 is the naming of a captain in each team. The captains will be their team’s figurehead, always a big part of any team sport and something cycling’s “Road Captains” will bring to the fore in Hammer races. The captains’ names will be revealed later.

2019 races

Hammer Stavanger, Norway: 24-26 May

Hammer Limburg, Netherlands: 7-9 June

Hammer Hong Kong: 12-13 October

Hammer Series 2019 teams

BORA-hansgrohe (GER)

CCC Team (POL)

Deceuninck Quick-Step (BEL)

Delko Marseille Provence (FRA)

EF Education First Pro Cycling (USA)

Israel Cycling Academy (ISR)

Lotto Soudal (BEL)

Mitchelton-SCOTT (AUS)

Nippo – Vini Fantini – Faizane (ITA)

Team Jumbo – Visma (NED)

Team Sky (GBR)

Team Sunweb (NED)

Trek-Segafredo (USA)

UAE Team Emirates (UAE)