Team Sunweb Announce Giro d’Italia Long-List

The first Grand Tour of the season, the Giro d’Italia is nearly upon the peloton and Team Sunweb are pleased to reveal their long-list of 13 riders for the 100th anniversary edition. This year, the race sees six mountain top finishes and two individual time trials, which are sure to shake up the overall classification.

Tom Dumoulin and Wilco Kelderman are two of Team Sunweb’s riders of whom the team had already confirmed their participation during Team Sunweb’s Launch at Münster-Osnabrück, Germany, last January. This year the team line-up for the first time looking to explore their GC possibilities in a Grand Tour. This is the perfect opportunity to grow and take the next step to see what it takes to become a GC rider, being focused on that for three weeks in a row. For this special Giro d’Italia a core group of German riders will be part of the final selection of the German Team Sunweb, which aims to inspire German and international fans during the three weeks of very prestigious racing in Italy.

Ahead of the race Team Sunweb coach Aike Visbeek said: “Our long-list consists of a mix of experienced Grand Tour riders and some who could potentially make their Grand Tour debut. From this we will select the strongest possible team to support Tom throughout the three weeks of racing at the 100th edition of the Giro d’Italia. The course this year is challenging and demanding and will for sure go down in history. The last week is crucial but with a lot of spectacular stages early on in the race, the GC riders have no opportunity to relax.

“It will be a different approach for this year’s Giro in comparison to our ambitions in previous Grand Tours, when we aimed for stage successes. We need to be focused all race long and that will be even more demanding for the team.”

Phil Bauhaus (GER)
Tom Dumoulin (NED)
Johannes Fröhlinger (GER)
Simon Geschke (GER)
Chad Haga (USA)
Wilco Kelderman (NED)
Sindre Skjøstad Lunke (NOR)
Georg Preidler (AUT)
Tom Stamsnijder (NED)
Laurens ten Dam (NED)
Mike Teunissen (NED)
Zico Waeytens (BEL)
Max Walscheid (GER)